Petrolicious http://www.petrolicious.com Fri, 31 Oct 2014 02:41:25 -0700 en-gb Mazda Miata MX-5 Road Trip Led to New Career http://www.petrolicious.com/mazda-miata-mx-5-road-trip-lead-to-new-career http://www.petrolicious.com/mazda-miata-mx-5-road-trip-lead-to-new-career

The fact that it was my first proper road trip with my own Mazda Miata MX-5 made it really special, in addition to driving many legendary roads in one trip. And fortunately, over the eight days and 2400kms (about 1490mi) we didn’t run into any trouble as neither a spare tire nor toolbox fit.

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Tue, 28 Oct 2014 16:51:48 -0700
The Porsche 356 Visualized http://www.petrolicious.com/the-porsche-356-visualized http://www.petrolicious.com/the-porsche-356-visualized

In conjunction with Tuesday's Outlaw Porsche video, we wanted to share more information about the wonderful bathtub Porsches. So we've created a Petrolicious infographic that is chock full of interesting tidbits about the iconic car. For instance, did you know that the 500th Porsche was built in the fourth year of production?

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Wed, 29 Oct 2014 13:34:39 -0700
A French Weekend With My Husband's Daytona Mistress http://www.petrolicious.com/a-french-weekend-with-my-husband-s-daytona-mistress http://www.petrolicious.com/a-french-weekend-with-my-husband-s-daytona-mistress

I have just returned from a quick weekend in France with my husband and his mistress. I know what you must be thinking, but I do rather like her. Although she’s loud (and I hate her perfume), she’s undoubtedly beautiful (stunning really) and being with her inevitably makes us the centre of attention–whether we want it or not...

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Wed, 29 Oct 2014 16:06:57 -0700
Scare Yourself With These Five Finds http://www.petrolicious.com/scare-yourself-with-these-five-finds http://www.petrolicious.com/scare-yourself-with-these-five-finds

Modern cars with airbags, traction control, anti-lock brakes, sensible weight distribution, seatbelts and crumple zones can still be dangerous. Remove one or all of those components, add power to the equation, and you get a car that could kill you at any moment...

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Wed, 29 Oct 2014 13:45:08 -0700
Rent a Classic and Join Drive Tastefully: Paramount Ranch http://www.petrolicious.com/rent-a-classic-and-join-drive-tastefully-paramount-ranch http://www.petrolicious.com/rent-a-classic-and-join-drive-tastefully-paramount-ranch

With our upcoming Paramount Ranch rally fast approaching we wanted to take a moment to remind our audience that having the right car is essential... But actually owning one is not! You can rent a classic car in Los Angeles and join Drive Tastefully: Paramount Ranch!

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Tue, 28 Oct 2014 19:29:20 -0700
Bringing the Silver Arrows Back to Life http://www.petrolicious.com/bringing-the-silver-arrows-back-to-life http://www.petrolicious.com/bringing-the-silver-arrows-back-to-life

Combining original photography with advanced 3D graphics they brought the legendary Silver Arrows of Mercedes-Benz and Auto Union—along with other famous brands—back to life. The stories related to the drivers and cars, augmented by the crystal clear images truly revive these lost icons.

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Tue, 28 Oct 2014 19:17:11 -0700
Outlaw Porsches Are a Family Tradition http://www.petrolicious.com/outlaw-porsches-are-a-family-tradition http://www.petrolicious.com/outlaw-porsches-are-a-family-tradition

By the time he was ten years old, Rod had spent countless hours in the shop with his father and grandfather as they pulled bumpers, louvered decklids, and painted numbers on the sides of Porsche 356s. Eventually, family friends dubbed the Emorys “outlaws,” referring both to the cars themselves as well as to the their relegation to the parking lot during big Porsche events.

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Mon, 27 Oct 2014 16:22:00 -0700
Three Generations Bombing About in a Mini http://www.petrolicious.com/three-generations-bombing-about-in-a-mini http://www.petrolicious.com/three-generations-bombing-about-in-a-mini

Although we contacted the seller in October, we weren’t initially keen on either travelling across the country just for a car, or buying it sight unseen. However, over a Christmas vacation together (and perhaps enough BEvERages) we decided to go for it (and also convinced my mother it was a good idea). Thanks to the helpful seller, the Mini was packaged up and shipped...

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Fri, 24 Oct 2014 18:43:43 -0700
Car Classic Shines Spotlight on Vintage and Movie Cars http://www.petrolicious.com/car-classic-shines-spotlight-on-movie-cars-and-classics http://www.petrolicious.com/car-classic-shines-spotlight-on-movie-cars-and-classics

Now in its fourteenth year, Art Center College of Design’s Car Classic has become a fixture of the concours circuit. It is however different from most other cars due to its heavy focus on design and southern California car culture. But it wasn’t just about movie-star cars. And we’d argue that the non-movie cars were equally noteworthy...

Read Full Article ]]>
Yoav Gilad Mon, 27 Oct 2014 11:27:18 -0700
What is the Scariest Car You've Ever Driven? http://www.petrolicious.com/what-is-the-scariest-car-you-ve-ever-driven http://www.petrolicious.com/what-is-the-scariest-car-you-ve-ever-driven

Over the last few years there has been a big fuss about cars that try to kill you. Typically, they pack lots of horsepower into a razor sharp package like the Lancia Stratos, which was designed with a short wheelbase so that it could pivot easily over rally courses. According to Phil Toledano, who owns one, "I live in terror when I drive it," due to horror stories related to its twitchy nature.

Read Full Article ]]>
Yoav Gilad Fri, 24 Oct 2014 12:25:45 -0700
October Instagram Roundup http://www.petrolicious.com/october-instagram-roundup http://www.petrolicious.com/october-instagram-roundup

We've selected some of our favorite #drivetastefully Instagram photos to share here on our site (left column). You can follow us @PetroliciousCo to get a glimpse behind the scenes of our film and photo shoots, sneak peeks of upcoming video subjects, and keep up to date with our daily automotive adventures. Also featured, on the right, are some Petrolisti who tagged their beautiful shots.

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Fri, 24 Oct 2014 19:04:58 -0700
Learning to Drive Stick in an Acura NSX, 1000mi to Go (2 of 4) http://www.petrolicious.com/learning-to-drive-stick-in-an-acura-nsx-1000mi-to-go-2-of-4 http://www.petrolicious.com/learning-to-drive-stick-in-an-acura-nsx-1000mi-to-go-2-of-4

She drove us over Pensacola’s Escambia Bay and under Mobile Bay in Alabma, through Mississippi’s bayous and north of New Orleans, Louisiana. That Thursday was all about driving and we were trying to make it past Houston, one thousand miles away if possible...

Read Full Article ]]>
Yoav Gilad Fri, 24 Oct 2014 14:40:46 -0700
Tom Eckersly Was The First Modern Graphic Designer http://www.petrolicious.com/tom-eckersly-was-whe-first-modern-graphic-designer http://www.petrolicious.com/tom-eckersly-was-whe-first-modern-graphic-designer

Eckersley’s contributions to British poster design were officially recognized in 1948 with an Order of the British Empire appointment. By this time, his posters could be seen just about everywhere (not only in the UK), and his ingeniously simple and often humorous style was instantly recognizable by the public...

Read Full Article ]]>
Andrew Chen Wed, 22 Oct 2014 12:36:49 -0700
The Ten Best Classic German Sports Sedans Under $25K http://www.petrolicious.com/the-ten-best-classic-german-sports-sedans-under-25k http://www.petrolicious.com/the-ten-best-classic-german-sports-sedans-under-25k

On Monday we challenged our readers to choose a classic, sporty German four-door sedan on a budget of $25k. Fortunately, that amount of money can go surprisingly far in this category, leaving almost all of Germany’s classic sports sedans as potential candidates...

Read Full Article ]]>
Sam Webber Thu, 23 Oct 2014 23:57:58 -0700
Art Center Car Classic This Sunday http://www.petrolicious.com/art-center-car-classic-this-sunday http://www.petrolicious.com/art-center-car-classic-this-sunday

This coming Sunday (October 26) is Art Center College of Design’s Car Classic, an annual celebration of cars that serves to remind us that behind every gorgeous automotive form is a hard-working, clever designer (probably educated at this very school). For over ten years the Car Classic has explored car culture and vehicle architecture through a designer’s lens...

Read Full Article ]]>
Petrolicious Productions Wed, 22 Oct 2014 19:26:23 -0700